The Trees

AliThe Trees

There will be a lot more to say about my new book in the future, but for now I’m pleased to be able to share the following trade announcement from Bloomsbury.

Helen Garnons-Williams at Bloomsbury UK and Rachel Mannheimer at Bloomsbury US have acquired the new novel by award-winning writer Ali Shaw (author of The Girl with Glass Feet) from Sue Armstrong at Conville & Walsh.  The Trees is a wildly imaginative, epic and enchanting novel in the vein of Pan’s Labyrinth and Spirited Away.  A post-apocalyptic road-trip and a stunning meditation on the violence and beauty of nature, it’s a deeply affecting story of survival, metamorphosis, and a great many miles of forest…

AliThe Trees

Scrapbook 2

AliOn Writing

Over the last few days I’ve been committing to paper a long chain of thought that, I hope, is going to serve as the basis of the biggest writing project I’ve ever undertaken.  I’m not plotting yet, just working on a setting that I hope to develop exhaustively before I embark on the actual story.

I’ve never done anything like this before, and I’m planning it out in a totally different way to my other projects.  Time, as ever, is the enemy of progress, and working on several things at once certainly doesn’t speed any of them along.  On the other hand, the ideas are arriving thick and fast and wild, and I’m enjoying them as they come into the light.  Below are a few current pieces of inspiration.

 

Elizabeth_I_attrib_john_bettes_c1585_90

 

8f947f95e3dbb2913448e06f959c688c

 

Entertainment-Palmistry-Woodcut-map-716x1000

 

 

AliScrapbook 2

Scrapbook 1

AliOn Writing

Altamira Bison

With each writing project I embark on, I find it useful to build a kind of digital scrapbook of images, videos and miscellaneous pieces that each reflect some  part of the story I’m trying to tell.  Most of the images are atmospheric, but some are photos of people who resemble the story’s characters, or of landscapes or places like those in which the narrative takes place.  I’m just starting to clip together two such scrapbooks, and above and below have linked a couple of pieces from the first, to show you the sort of thing that goes in.

 

 

AliScrapbook 1