I’ll be at Blackpool’s Wordpool Festival, July 2nd 2015

AliEventsLeave a Comment

I’m really excited to be visiting Blackpool for 2015’s Wordpool Festival.  I’ll be talking at the Central Library at 11am on Thursday 2nd July, and there will be elevenses (pastries, coffee, tea).  I used to live just up the road in Lancaster, so am really looking forward to being back in that part of the country.  Please do come along if you can make it! Click on the poster for all the details, and the rest of the Wordpool programme.  Hope to see you there.  

AliI’ll be at Blackpool’s Wordpool Festival, July 2nd 2015

The Trees

AliThe Trees

There will be a lot more to say about my new book in the future, but for now I’m pleased to be able to share the following trade announcement from Bloomsbury. Helen Garnons-Williams at Bloomsbury UK and Rachel Mannheimer at Bloomsbury US have acquired the new novel by award-winning writer Ali Shaw (author of The Girl with Glass Feet) from Sue Armstrong at Conville & Walsh.  The Trees is a wildly imaginative, epic and enchanting novel in the vein of Pan’s Labyrinth and Spirited Away.  A post-apocalyptic road-trip and a stunning meditation on the violence and beauty of nature, it’s a deeply affecting story of survival, metamorphosis, and a great many miles of forest…

AliThe Trees

Scrapbook 2

AliOn Writing

Over the last few days I’ve been committing to paper a long chain of thought that, I hope, is going to serve as the basis of the biggest writing project I’ve ever undertaken.  I’m not plotting yet, just working on a setting that I hope to develop exhaustively before I embark on the actual story. I’ve never done anything like this before, and I’m planning it out in a totally different way to my other projects.  Time, as ever, is the enemy of progress, and working on several things at once certainly doesn’t speed any of them along.  On the other hand, the ideas are arriving thick and fast and wild, and I’m enjoying them as they come into the light.  Below are a few current pieces of inspiration.          

AliScrapbook 2